SULO leadership reshuffled

Less than a month before the term ends, then Sulô Associate Editor April Joy Sun became the yearbook's new editor-in-chief after she swapped positions with Vanessa Salvador on Mar. 8.

Due to Salvador’s dereliction of duties for the second semester, Kathrine Maxwell, Sulo Special Projects Head, raised the motion in a general assembly where the issue was decided in an 8-10 vote in favor of the motion, with Sulô members Minerva Manalili from Anthropology, Marie Julienne Ente from Sociology and Jane Kate Calipay from Philosophy absent from the voting.

Even Salvador voted for the switch, along with Maxwell, Ruth Abigail Acero, Kristia Lorraine Caringal and Natashia Anne Padilla from Political Science, CJ Prelligera from Philosophy, Maria Meleah Purganan from Geography and Aaron Abel Mallari from History. Sun and Gay Isabida from History abstained from voting.

In an open letter by Salvador, she wrote that prior obligations as rappel instructor in the College of Engineering kept her from fulfilling her duties as editor-in-chief.

“Despite the switching that occurred, what’s important is for Sulô to do its job, the reason why it was organized in the first place – to produce the yearbook. Doon kami magfofocus,” Sun said.

On March 10, Sulô sent a letter to the CSSP Student Council informing them of the reshuffling.

Article by: Jane Fabula